High water fishing

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge

I went fishing yesterday. Here’s a few photos from the short trip. The above photo is looking upstream towards the third dam. The spillway is still open so what was once a nice trout stream is still a trout river. Note where the angler is fishing. He is standing on the edge of where the bank normally is. To his left is a substantial drop-off. To his right is usually not under water.

Oh, and yes. My camera is crapping out. I am in the process of getting a new and improved cheap cam. These photos aren’t the best so sorry about that.

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge

The bottom part of this photo is where I was standing. The top part is where the old bank used to be. It’s hard to tell but the drop is 6-8′ in fast moving water. Not sure how I’d fair in chest waders. Some guys carry a knife around their necks. Supposedly you can cut suspenders and somehow escape your waders before drowning. I may start doing this but I’m not confident I could escape the waders!

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge

This is dam #2. See those rocks under water? Go another 6′ to the right of them and this is where the bank normally is. This little stretch does not look like much but it’s deep. As such, fly fisherman cannot fish it. I can consistently catch 1-2 trout here with deep diving lures. In fact, I’ve caught my biggest rainbow and brown trout out of this stretch. Yesterday I caught two rainbows of average size here. One flopped back in before I could photo and the other is below.

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge

So that camera is really crapping out. Here’s one of the trout I caught. In a typical outing I cycle through the following lures until I figure out which is working:

  • Kastmaster heavy spoons
  • Lighter Bouyont Brand spoons
  • Heavy spinners
  • Rapala-type lures

Yesterday a orange and yellow spinner with rooster tail won the day. I failed to set the hook on a spoon. Then had one large trout follow a spinner back to shore. I caught two more on the same spinner. Skunk is off!

And before you fly fishing purists get your panties in wad don’t fret! I always clip one hook — partially to make my lures, etc. resistant to snags and partially to go easy on the trout (i.e. double hook instead of treble). I also crimp at least one barb and am 100% catch-and-release!

Excitement at the Dam

On the opposite side of the dam is a stretch of land followed by the dam’s spillway. Some people will park on a different access road and hike down the steep dam to the shore. Well about 15 minutes after I arrived I noticed people fishing and wading on the other side. Then I see a lady running up the dam. The roar of both spillways is loud enough that I could not hear the lady or her people. Where I was fishing is much lower than where these people where so most of the time I could see them. Bottom line is that someone–maybe their kid?–got hurt somehow. Next thing I know is that I hear sirens and see police and rescue hiking down the hill. A few minutes later a Life Flight helicopter circles and lands across from me.

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge

Here’s the photo of that. It looked like they hauled some kid out on a board. That’s about all I could see from my angle. I assume a bad fall though it could have been any number of things. Rattlesnake bite, allergic shock to bee sting, heat exhaustion, etc.

Until next Saturday’s trip!

About Bob Patterson

I'm a naughty Vampire God!
This entry was posted in Fishing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to High water fishing

  1. Tater says:

    The waders danger is no joke. My wife and I both learned the hard way that filling waders is fairly terrifying. I don’t think a knife would have helped me either. Stay safe.

    Like

Comments are closed.