Kempo

The missus saw a posting on Facebook that led back to a new martial arts school in town. Apparently an instructor who teaches Kara-ho Kempo is looking for new students. Doing a little research it looks like this art was developed in Hawaii, has a kung fu foundation, and includes added stuff from taekwondo, Shotokan, and the Filipino arts, etc.

The system can best be described as a series of rapid strikes (punches and kicks) to the vital areas of an opponent. The system calls for an equal use of both the hands and feet and, also, teaches self-defense techniques against weapons and multiple attackers.

Part of the Kara-Ho Kempo curriculum consists of empty hand and weapons kata, featuring weapons originating in Okinawa, Japan, China, and the Philippines with 18 weapons total and 3 kata for each weapon.

I e-mailed the instructor and am welcomed to observe or even try a few classes. The monthly rate is very reasonable, too. Given what I saw on Facebook he doesn’t have many students yet. This might be a good thing because if I do bite I’m going to need all the help I can get!

Thanks to a sensible diet and P90X3 I’ve lost over 25 pounds. I’ve also gotten into good shape for a 40-something-year-old. Example: when I started P90X3 I could do 8 push-ups. I’m now on my third cycle of X3 and as of yesterday knocked out a solid 25! Not too shabby!

The problem, however, is despite better fitness I’ve also been fighting nagging injuries for a year. The tennis elbow–now both elbows!–is constant. Some days are better than others but the pain is always there. Added to that is what I think is bursitis in both hips. I’ve not been to the doc about it but it matches the symptoms perfectly. Worse still, last weekend I strained and/or tore some damn thing in my left hip near the front of my glute. I’m pretty sure a round kick or side kick did it and I blame my return to the taekwondo forms.

Those of you paying attention to this cry for help will recall that about one year ago I dabbled in our local judo school. That is, right up until a big bugger fell on me during a throw and ended up injuring me. After that I realized that the contact and injuries would only get worse so I bailed.

The question is will a stand up art be much better? I’m almost 50 so I am not sure if I can hang any more. Bottom line: I’m going to try and heal the tear/strain and then go and observe. I’ll likely try to the two free classes as well and then see what comes of it.

I guess I can participate until I break something again. 🙂

Martial links:

  • A book from the 1880’s on Samurai techniques for cops is now available. Pretty cool stuff if you are into the history of martial arts!
  • Karate Obsession has a cool post on how to use karate to stop multiple attacks.
  • Black Belt Magazine posted a guide to hip health. Given what I’m experiencing it’s both timely and mildly depressing.
About Bob Patterson

I'm a naughty Vampire God!
This entry was posted in Exercise, Injuries, Kung fu, Martial Arts, Taekwondo, Training and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Kempo

  1. JT says:

    Re: The hip article; That’s exactly what my orthopedist told me. no more extreme kicking – at all. From the article:
    “Finally, consider how well your art matches your physiology. “If you have a joint and bone structure that is not well-suited to the sport, the joints will begin to deteriorate much sooner and at a greater rate,” Klapper warns. If that’s the case, you may want to switch to a gentler style.”

    Well, that AND vodka…

    Like

  2. Tater says:

    Sorry to hear about the tennis elbow that continues. I loved the links. The old illustrations were very cool.

    Like

Comments are closed.