Taegeuk Chil-Jang

Quick updates:

Over the weekend I made it to form #7, Taeguek Chil-Jang. This used to be one of my favorite forms. Due to it being a fav I was able to get it back over the course of an hour. It’s still rusty but overall it came back fairly quick. The above video demonstrates the form and then breaks it down part-by-part. One thing that stood out in this video is his higher stances. While I was taught some high stances there are other parts of the form where my instructor went old-school and made us do them deep. Much deeper than what’s being demonstrated.

Tomato, tomaato!

P90X3:

I finished the 90 day mass cycle. I’m not much bigger than I was before. My body weight is fluctuating between 185 and 181 each week. This is where I want to be so that is good. Today I started a new 90 days but this time I’m going back to the classic routine. The classic routine is a bit more balanced and offers three days of resistance training mixed with three days of cardio and yoga. I’ll probably back off the protein too.

Injuries:

They continue to nag me. I have tennis elbow, or lateral epicondylitis, in my outer right elbow and also in my inner left elbow. The outer right definitely hurts more. The P90X3 mass routine had more weight-like training which seemed to bother both elbows more. This is one of the reasons I’m going back to the classic routine.

My hip bursitis has also been giving me hell this weekend. Naturally both hips! Ice, ibuprofen, Tylenol, lineaments, etc. I’ve even been taking dark cherry extract which is supposed to help with inflammation. I also seemed to have strained something in the outer left hip exactly where the bursitis is acting up.

Getting old sucks!

About Bob Patterson

I'm a naughty Vampire God!
This entry was posted in Exercise, Injuries, Martial Arts, Musings, P90X3, Taekwondo, Training, Updates and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Taegeuk Chil-Jang

  1. potatoefist says:

    Although I am staying steady at 200 I’ve been consumed by the regional cold for the last week and a half. Sleeping 12 hours a night for days on end has given me quite the back issue. However, no bursitis issues! I think I mentioned years ago that my bursitis finally disappeared once I started getting my back issues in line. I hope the same for you, but know that everyone is so different who knows what’s causing yours.

    Like

    • Not sure if I got back issues — it seems okay. I’ve been to the doctor so many times in the past year I’m tired of seeing him. We shall see. If I can get it down to manageable pain…

      Like

Comments are closed.