Roundup from around the interwebs

Full gallery at this link.

Here’s a few gems from around the interwebs! First up is a montage of military training photos from around the world. I am SO not hardcore!

Next up is an article about the Western drought. I was saving this for a fishing post but fishing got side-tracked. I may go on Friday or Saturday — we shall see. In the meantime, read and get depressed.

A recent survey released Wednesday of the lower reaches of 54 rivers in Oregon, California and Washington by the conservation group Wild Fish Conservancy showed nearly three-quarters had temperatures higher than 70 degrees, considered potentially deadly for salmon and trout.

Low river flows from the record low winter snowpack, which normally feeds rivers through the summer, combined with record hot weather have created a “perfect storm” of bad conditions for salmon and trout, said U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service supervisory fisheries biologist Rich Johnson.

Last up is cool 11-part memoir about someone who trained in Jook Lum Southern Praying Mantis Kung Fu. It’s a fascinating read and I encourage you to head on over to Cook Ding’s and read it!

Let us close with a video that compares Southern and Northern Praying Mantis. I have it queued up to talk about the Southern style. If you got 45 minutes to kill the whole video is worth a watch.

Get past Southern and you can watch Northern. I trained in 7-Star Northern for about 1.5 years. Never could get my head and body to do the “long fist power” very good. I did, however, get compliments about my short power.

About Bob Patterson

I'm a naughty Vampire God!
This entry was posted in Fishing, Just for fun, Kung fu, News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Roundup from around the interwebs

  1. potatoefist says:

    I ended up reading the whole Bruce Campbell article. Pretty much sums up learning a new art in every way possible. Finding a great teacher is an awesome thing.

    Like

Comments are closed.