Injury update

My plan to finally return to a martial art…

I went to the doctor yesterday for another follow-up on my tennis elbow. The news he gave me is comparable to information I found on the interwebs:

Tennis elbow is a self-limiting condition, which means it will eventually get better without treatment.

However, it can often last for several weeks or months, because tendons heal slowly. In some cases, tennis elbow can persist for more than a year.

I artfully skirted the judo plan but did ask the doctor how active I can be. His answer?

“…you should stop doing activities that strain affected muscles and tendons.”

Well, bugger.

I’ve had the injury since the first week of January. It is almost March. The elbow is 50% better but I appear to be stuck. So, at this point, I’m taking it week-by-week. Unfortunately this means judo is on hold until I’m confident that I won’t re-injure the tendon.

I may visit the class this week and let sensei know.

Don Draeger Saved Karate?

Black Belt recently ran a two-part series on Don F. Draeger. If you don’t know who Mr. Draeger was I’d encourage you to read the article.

The part that caught my eye was Draeger’s post World War II involvement with the fate of Japanese martial arts:

Draeger’s judo background also led to his being on the official military board of the Supreme Command of Allied Powers in Japan, where he helped decide the status and political responsibility of the various Japanese martial systems. Most of the arts that were demonstrated were banned for having been associated with militarism, although karate-do, curiously, was exempted.

An anecdote tells that while a member of this board, Draeger watched as karateka under Gichin Funakoshi demonstrated their kata at a deliberately slow pace to make it seem like a form of exercise along the lines of Chinese tai chi chuan. As the only member of the board who understood karate-do’s true nature and intent, Draeger later claimed he allowed it to pass without the other board members’ knowledge.

So, if true, we may have Don Draeger to thank for helping to preserve karate!

About Bob Patterson

I'm a naughty Vampire God!
This entry was posted in Exercise, Judo, Training and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Injury update

  1. Pingback: Martial art coolness | Erotixx

Comments are closed.